Brexit: the standoff between the Prime Minister and MPs continues.

Brexit-related uncertainty is se to continue after MPs voted to reject the Prime Minister’s deal for the third time on Friday.

Theresa May’s deal was defeated by 344 to 286 votes, a majority of 58. This was a slight improvement from the previous defeat with 391 votes to 242.

Despite late deflections in favour by high profile Brexiteers such as Jacob Rees Mogg and Boris Johnson, May was ultimately unable to convince enough MPs to support her deal.

Whilst both Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn and Angus Robertson, The SNP leader in Westminster, called upon Theresa May to resign, the Prime Minister said she will continue to fight for an “orderly Brexit”.

Speaking to MPs in the aftermath of the vote, May said:

“The implications of the house’s decision are grave,” and continued: “I fear we are reaching the limits of this process in this house.” vote took place on what had originally been set to be the UK’s official departure from the European Union.

However, the Prime Minister was forced to ask the EU for an extension amid a continued deadlock in Westminster over the best path forward for Brexit.

Whilst the PM had initially asked for a delay until the 30 June, The EU granted a shorter extension until April 12, in light of upcoming European parliament elections.

In anticipation of the elections, The Independent Group, a breakaway group of MPs, also announced on Friday they had submitted an application to officially become a political party.

The group are to be known as Change UK and have announced former Conservative MP Heidi Allen as their interim leader, in the hope that they will be able to put forward candidates for the European elections.